Pushing What?

“Pushing the envelope” was a term popular in the days of homeroom and homework. Outside of middle school my friends and I spent our time skateboarding, which certainly taught me to look at the built environment around me a bit differently than most. To “push the envelope” was to try something that had not been done, thus leading to the progression of the sport. Following suit, I hope that this research will not only positively contribute to the growing movement of responsive architecture, but will focus on the envelope, or boundary condition of buildings, and how thermally responsive bi-material systems can redefine how we design and experience this crucial negotiation between body, architecture and the environment.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.